top of page

Wacky Weather Weekend in Wilson

by Ethan Carraway


 

One staff writer took it upon himself to chronicle the winter storm of the year. In his own words, read his journaled thoughts from before, during, and after the storm.


Notes from before the storm:

It’s Friday, January 21st, in the middle of the day, and it really doesn’t seem like any snow will actually come to Wilson. There’s only rain at my house because it’s not even cold enough to snow. I really don’t think that this whole winter storm thing was even real. Maybe we’ll see some snow on Saturday, but I highly doubt it.


It’s Friday afternoon and I’m starting to see some flakes falling slowly to the ground and not melting instantly. I’m starting to get some hope for finally making snowmen again and throwing snowballs at my friends.


During the storm:

I went outside to see the whole five inches of snow we got the night before. It’s Saturday morning, and the wish of every person in town came true. There hasn’t been snow like this in Wilson for years! Let’s hope that it doesn’t melt away immediately.


It’s Saturday afternoon and the snow has cleared up a bit, but it’s still out there. I hope the ice didn’t hit the roads too hard so people can go to work, but the salt should do its job in helping absorb most of the ice. Maybe we might see more snow in February, but this is definitely the attention grabber we all need right now.


After the storm:

It’s mid-day Sunday, and about half of the snow has cleared out. I’m really sad to see it go so soon, but still I’m glad to cherish the memories. My friends are coming to pick me up later so we can go to the lake and mess around. It’s about to be a great day.


It’s Sunday afternoon and I just got home from hanging out with my friends. We threw snow on the lake ice, had snowball fights, and slipped all over the ice. It’s been a fun day, so I think I’ll end my snowstorm report on a high note.


Final remarks:

Although we were out on Friday, the snow didn’t actually start until later that day with little flakes flurrying around. The snow was a little less than I expected and what was expected by everyone else, but I don't think it was about the amount. The forecast was giving us around a 50/50 chance of snow up until about Thursday, when the reporters confirmed that the storm would hit Wilson and its environs. It’s almost cleared up now, so make the best of the snow that’s still left.

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page