top of page

The Man in the Green Gator

by Garrison Wester


 

Coach Daniel Johnson is the director of facilities and ground and the Greenfield Men’s baseball team head coach. He is always busy and when you see him on campus, he is most times working or always on the way to go do something. Coach Johnson has no doubt earned everyone’s respect with all the hard work he continuously does.


I sat down with Coach Johnson to understand the man who drives the green gator.


Above: Coach Daniel Johnson. Photo credit to Jasmine Nguyen.

GW: How long have you been working at Greenfield School for?

DJ: I have been working at Greenfield School for eighteen years.

GW: What is a day in your life at school like?

DJ: That could be anything really. I cut grass very often and I repair anything around campus that needs it. I get to school at seven A.M. every day and if there are no sporting events, I leave at 4:30 P.M.

GW: What is the weirdest thing that has happened to you while working here?

DJ: The weirdest thing probably could have been this year when I drove a tent stake through a toilet drainpipe and then had to dig it up and have all the weeks toiletries rush out on me all at one time.

GW: Have you ever looked at something at thought you would never be able to fix it?

DJ: Of course, all the time but I always come up with a plan to fix it from past experiences.

GW: What is the next project you are itching to get started on?

DJ: The next project that I can’t wait to get started on is the dugouts for the baseball field.

GW: What are your preparations for the Halloween trail?

DJ: My preparations for the Halloween trail are to clean and cut the trail, and get any material needed for the kids so they can set it up.

GW: How did you get involved in the baseball program?

DJ: I was hired here eighteen years ago as the P.E. teacher and the baseball coach.

GW: What is the most memorable experience while being a part of the baseball program?

DJ: My most memorable experience while being a part of the baseball program was in 2015 when we won the state championship.

GW: How does it feel to see your former players go play at the net level?

DJ: It is awesome to see them go on to play at the next level. It is very cool to see them grow as a player through each phase of the way there.

GW: What is your favorite sports movie of all time.

DJ: I would have to say Field of the Dreams.

GW: Do you feel you are appreciated enough by Greenfield faculty and students?

DJ: Oh of course I am. I am loved by everyone here on campus.

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page