top of page

Op-ed: Who will win Powderpuff?

By Emma Pridgen

 

With Fall Family Night only a few weeks away, it is time to start practicing for the big powderpuff game! Powderpuff is flag football, but instead of guys, the girls play, and the guys are the cheerleaders. There are two teams, the pink team and the black team. I am on the black team, so I have a strong feeling we might win. Both teams have good players, and it will be a close game.

Some junior and senior boys are coaching the teams, and whichever team loses, those coaches must perform a punishment. Although I want the black team to win, the pink team has had quite a few practices, and so far, the black team has had none. This puts the pink team at a better advantage because they have had more time to practice and run plays together. All the girls playing on both teams are very athletic, and most play soccer, so all the running will be easy for them.

I think the black team will take home the win because we have four good coaches: Gabe Marquis, Josh Brown, Ed Gavin, and Cole Evans. My whole team is excited to play, so we are going to take it very seriously. We had our first two practices, and we went over a lot of our plays. I think we can trick the pink team easily to win points. I think we will at least beat them by a minimum of 7 points.

I created a poll to get 12 other people's ideas on which team they think will win. The pink team won the poll, with 58.3% of people thinking they would win. The black team had a percentage of 33.3, and 8.3% of the people thought it would end in a tie.

In my interview, I individually interviewed Natalie Copeland on who she thought would win and why. She said, “Most of my friends are on the black team, so I have a strong feeling that they will win.” The next question I asked Natalie was what she thought the score would be, and she said, “I think the black team will lead by 20 points with the game ending in a score of 40-20.”


Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page