top of page

Op-ed: Freezer burn crisis

by Ethan Carraway


 

Freezer burn is the worst thing that could ever happen to food, and I have a reason why I think so.

Burnt food and drenched food can be fixed by repurposing it into something else, but if food is freezer burnt, it is completely impossible to replace the nasty taste and the hardness of the disgusting, vile food.

Let's start with a fast-food restaurant.

The other day I went to Zaxby’s to get some food. I went through the line, got the usual, and sat down to eat when I got home. I realized that most of my fries were freezer burnt.

Now most people know that Zaxby’s fries that aren’t freezer burnt are good, so, for most of them to be like this was a disappointment. Not only did I have a bad taste in my mouth from the fries, but also from Zaxby’s itself. Most of the time I wouldn't be upset about a bad serving of fries, but this is nonstop, consistent, and trashy food. It’s not only fries that can be like this, but it can also be anything (even ice cream). How do you even freezer burn something that’s served cold. It was made to he eaten that way!

Upon further research, I discovered that, technically, freezer burn is when a piece of food loses all of its moisture due to being in the freezer so long. How in the world does that affect fries? Fries are one of the driest foods ever, and you’re telling me that they can be freezer burnt? What about biscuits, which are notorious for being dry? Can they get freezer burnt? This all makes no sense to me.

Another thing that confuses me is why do companies let this happen so often to their products. I would understand if a small business had it happen, but you would think that a larger business would want to keep their reputation as having good fries as a stationary reputation and not one that moves around depending on how the employees feel that day.

To wrap it all up I want to say that the quality of fast food and any food of the sort will only go down if you leave it in the freezer for too long so for the sake of some decent fries try to not be lazy.

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page