top of page

Class of 2022 Spotlight: Jeremy Johnson

by Tyler Thompson


 

Jeremy Johnson is currently a senior at Greenfield and is 18 years old. He is also a varsity athlete.

He has anticipated being a senior and is excited for his final year. “To be honest, its different but its not as stressful as junior year. We have a lot less when it comes to work, but applying to colleges is sometimes a little bit stressful,” he said, “I just want to be able to enjoy this last year of high school before I got to go [to college].”

Although he is ready to go to college, he still has many aspirations in his final year. “My goals for my final year I hope to be a CPIC all conference or all state player in baseball, I hope to make better grades, reach out to some people I haven't really ever talked to before, and hopefully make some lasting connections,” he said.

Jeremy has been playing baseball basically his whole life. “Particularly at Greenfield, being able to be a high school athlete has shaped the way I'd look at other people in relationships. Definitely. Because the most important aspect to me when playing baseball is building trust on the team and that creates family,” he said.

Jeremy also has big expectations for himself next year. “My number one school is NC State. But I'm open to some other schools as well. I really hope to end up anywhere in the UNC system like UNC Charlotte, UNC Chapel Hill, because they're all great schools. And I feel like there's a lot of opportunity there socially, academically, and that helps for a brighter future,” he said.

“My goals next year at college... I have to say, staying true to myself. So not trying to shade one part of my life towards academics or one part of my life towards socials and lose my focus on my particular priority. So staying well rounded, and focusing on my main goal of becoming successful successful in the future,” he said.

Although Jeremy is leaving us next year, he will still always remember Greenfield. “I have to say, the atmosphere of the school. It being a quiet place for me to be able to go to and concentrate. I’ll miss that a lot. Wilson has never been my particular home but I feel like at this school, I can feel that way. So I'm going to miss that feeling.”



Above: Senior Jeremy Johnson as photographed by Jasmine Nguyen.

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page