top of page

Class of 2022 Spotlight: Aaron Murphy

by Tyler Thompson


 


Above: Senior Aaron Murphy poses for Jasmine Nguyen.


Aaron Murphy often tells his peers a little speech that he heard from football player, Ray Lewis: “How can he be king of the jungle? If he is not the biggest? The elephant is probably one of the biggest. He cannot be the fastest, because that is the cheetah. So how does the lion become the king of the jungle? His mentality.” Whenever you hear him say this, you know that he really means it and takes great inspiration from and wants to spread to his peers.

Aaron is a stellar student, athlete, and motivator. He is 18 years old and currently a senior here at Greenfield. This is his second year at Greenfield, but his impact has been felt. He is always seen with a smile on his face and is always there for his peers.

Aaron has really become immersed in the Greenfield community and has felt its impact on his own mentality. He recalls a story about the community here: “[One time] I got a B on a test, and I think I was the only one who got a B on the test in the class. And then everybody in the classroom came up to me and gave me a hug. They said I could do better.” Aaron took this to heart and it really helped him. “I'm proud that my education is building. I'm really maturing, [getting] into the books, and studying more, and its shown throughout my progress and my reports and my grades.”

Aaron’s goals this year reflect this. “[My goals are] to be successful in sport that I love, basketball, and to continue to make all A's all year.”

Basketball has positively impacted Aaron's life, as well. “[Basketball] kind of stopped me from from trouble [and] encouraged me to push others and just to be successful on and off the court.”

Basketball has also given him an opportunity to play in college. “I've committed to Queen's University in Charlotte,” Murphy said.

His goals for next year at Queens reflect the good person he is. “[My goals are] to do the same like I did here, impact people's lives and encourage them,” said Murphy.

Aaron looks to continue off of what he did here at Greenfield both academically and in basketball. When asked about what he would miss the most about Greenfield, he responded, “The atmosphere here. Just always doing the work with a purpose... and the teachers here.. and my peers.”

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page