top of page

Best in Wilson: Phil's music exchange

Addison Watson


Phil’s Music Exchange of Wilson is a physical media and memorabilia store, located in downtown Wilson, North Carolina, and was founded by Phil Sabella in 1995.

Phil Sabella, founder of Phil’s Music Exchange, showed a love for music at the early age of six years old. Phil has always had an interest in buying and selling music. “I’ve always bought and sold music...” Sabella says when asked why he started his own business “I make the joke that when I was in High school, I used to sell cassettes during class, and I did. So, I've always had an entrepreneurial heart...”


The first Phil’s Music Exchange opened in 1995 in a flea market in Wilson, North Carolina and was quite successful, but Phil had little experience in owning a business, so the business did not last. “In my thirties, mid to late thirties I went to nursing school and when I got out of nursing school I started working as a nurse and honestly I just felt in the back of my head God saying, you have to do something with this.” So, Phil had moved on from nursing to working on his business full time, and Phil’s Music Exchange officially reopened on November 18th, 2020.

Phil’s Music Exchange offers a variety of different physical media including CDs, cassettes, records, and 8-tracks, to DVDs, video games, and memorabilia. The store also offers various services such as disc resurfacing, transfers of video or audio media, put cassettes or VHS tapes on digital format for customers, rent out CDs, DVDs and blu-rays and some video games to customers, and restoration and repairs of stereo equipment. At Phil’s, people can also come in and sell products to the store, which is one of Phil’s favorite things about his job because he gets many unique and different memorabilia.


Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Comments


bottom of page