top of page

Behind the Scenes: Mrs. Dana Batchelor

by Garrison Wester

 

Mrs. Batchelor has an important role at Greenfield School, and with COVID-19 continuing to cause problems, her role has changed dramatically. She is a hard worker who is determined to get the job done each and every day. Mrs. Batchelor is also the one who helps make the tough decision on COVID restrictions and who must be sent home, so it must be hard on her.


I sat down with her to do a behind the scenes interview regarding what her job entails.


GW: What time do you get to Greenfield in the morning and what time do you leave?


DB: I get here in the mornings at 7:30 and I can leave here as early as 3:00 but often, depending on what is going on, it could be later. It could be around 4-4:30 [before I leave].



GW: How do you feel about being the [school] nurse during the pandemic?



DB: I love being a nurse during the pandemic. It has been a real challenge because instead of being a caregiver and someone who helps people feel better, I now question people, and makes them feel like they are being accused of something that they are not. I have found it a challenge to continue to be a caregiver during the pandemic.


Above right: Mrs. Batchelor poses for Jasmine Nguyen.



GW: What are the new procedures that you have had to add because of the pandemic?


DB: During the pandemic we have adapted procedures in regards to everyone that is absent during the day is contacted by me, and if they have any symptoms of illness, they [stay] at home. If there are any siblings in the home, they stay home as well until we have determined that it is not COVID-19. If the test comes back positive, I have to then figure out who has to quarantine and then for how long.


GW: How do you feel about being the one who has to send kids or even classes home?


DB: I hate it. I hate it so much because I hate being the one who has to deliver bad news.


GW: What brought you to Greenfield School?


DB: With my children being here, I wanted to be available for them more. The job was open and I understood what had to be done.


GW: While you are here during the work day, what are you normally doing?


DB: I take care of any kids that become sick during the day. I will contact their parents and contact all the people who are absent. I will assist the teachers and the staff with whatever they need to continue to be able to teach.


GW: Have you had past work experiences in nursing?


DB: I have. I have been a nurse for over 24 years. The first fifteen years were [in] cardiac medicine. I would take care of [only] heart patients. I worked in student health at Barton College and then here.

Recent Posts

See All

Macy's closes 150 stores

by Connor Daniel If you are a shopper, you may have heard about Macy’s stores getting shut down. Across the country, over 150 stores...

Boy's basketball falls short

by Ethan Carraway It was a wild ride for the Greenfield boy’s basketball team, as they closed out their season with a devastating loss...

Commentaires


bottom of page